AGM 2018: recap

On Wednesday 28 November the Council held its Annual General Meeting.  As always this event included the Peter Rowland Memorial Address, the Council’s Awards and the election of the Board.

The Council’s newest Fabulous (Life) Members were our patron John Mackay and passionate supporter and critical friend Danny Ryding.  The President’s Award was given to longtime volunteer Pat McEwan and the Communications Award to Jacob White the driving force behind Yes!Fest and Jules Kim, CEO of Scarlet Alliance, Australian Sex Workers Association. Sue Driscoll was awarded the community award and Dr Mike Seah the David Widdup Award.


The work of the Council is enhanced and supported by an incredible network of individuals and organisations every year who support us, partner with us, lead us and engage with us.  Our annual awards are just a small token of our appreciation and a way we can acknowledge the meaningful impact of their contribution.

During the AGM, the outgoing president Tim Dyke briefed the organisation’s members about the implementation and impact of our HIV prevention, HIV support and LGBTI health programs throughout the 2017/18 financial year.

Some highlights of the year included the realisation of our work towards our monitoring and evaluation framework – Contribution to Change, establishing a fee for service model for counselling, grounding our peer based services and the inaugural lgbtqW Survey

The AGM showcased the work of the organisation and demonstrated the impact this work provides.  The Council’s Monitoring and Evaluation Framework brings together peer-based expertise, evaluation data, and the results of external research to build a credible picture of how the Council is contributing to outcomes for the community it seeks to serve.  The impact report can be found here and annual report here. Copies of these documents are also available in our Resource Library. 

During the AGM the contributions of Nathan Boyle and Melanie Cantwell were recognised.  Melanie and Nathan have been on the Board for over 6 years and both their terms concluded at this AGM.  Melanie and Nathan have given remarkable commitment, skills and insight to govern the Council through difficult times and turn around the organisation to the strong sustainable organisation it is today.  We are looking forward to the future, recognising those who helped us get here.

The Board is essential to the good governance of the Council and we appreciate all their expertise, insight and generous support.  The Board are volunteers who give so much to ensure the organisation is governed well with financial sustainability and strong leadership.

The new board is Adam Stankevicius as President, Tim Dyke, Wayne Herbert, Alex Durrant, Michael Sparks, Sue Webeck, Joel Radcliffe and Elena Rosenman.

The Board’s governance and leadership is vital to ensuring that the Council is the open, agile and responsive organisation we aim to be serving the HIV and LGBTIQ communities.  We look forward to another successful and opportunity filled year.

Copyright © 2018 AIDS Action Council of the ACT
AIDS Action Council acknowledges Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and recognises the continuing connection to lands, waters and communities. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders both past and present.


Donate to the AIDS Action Council or the Trevor Daley Fund. Donations over $2 are tax deductible. Call 6257 2855 or email us for more details.